National Threat Levels - Revised

The government made a number of changes to the terrorism threat level system in July 2019. This was in order to provide a single national threat level describing the threat to the UK, which includes Islamist, Northern Ireland, left-wing and right-wing terrorism.

As well as the incorporating additional threat sources there was also a review of the definitions of each threat level. This has resulted in some subtle changes.

What the threat levels mean

Threat levels are designed to give a broad indication of the likelihood of a terrorist attack.

LOW means an attack is highly unlikely

MODERATE means an attack is possible, but not likely

SUBSTANTIAL means an attack is likely

SEVERE means an attack is highly likely

CRITICAL means an attack is highly likely in the near future

Current Threat Levels

The threat to the UK (England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland) from terrorism is SEVERE.

Current Northern Ireland-related terrorism threat level

The threat to Northern Ireland from Northern Ireland-related terrorism is SEVERE.

More information can be found on the Government website.

#security #terrorism #nationalsecurity


T: 020 7520 2100

  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook

Registered Office: Ground Floor Suite, River House, Maidstone Road, Sidcup, Kent, DA14 5RH

Registered in England No: 02933907

SIA Approved Contractor Logo
ACS Pacesetters logo
Living Wage Recognised Service Provider Logo
Alcumus SafeContractor logo
The Institute of Customer Services ServiceMark logo